Wrap Up: Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon!

Dewey;s wrap up

For my first 24 hour readathon I was so nervous! But I did it! Now I didn’t read every hour, that was pretty hard when my mom wanted me to help out with some early Christmas shopping. But none the less I am proud with how I did.

Hours before (ok the morning before) the readathon started, I finished Obsidian by Jennfier L. Armentrout. I counted this toward my readathon books read because the book was on my TBR for the readathin. I already have a review for this book so if you want to hear more on what I thought you can click here.

Next I went to read Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi. This was going really well and I was hoping to finish the book. I was on chapter 36 when I found something wrong with my book. Chapters 37 through 41 were missing and in their places laid a extra copy of chapters 32 through 36. I did mange to get to Barns and Noble during the readathon but sadly they were out of stuck for Shatter Me. I was able to read a total of 248 pages even though I did not get a chance to finish the book. And if you are wondering I was really enjoying the book!

Finally on the last 12 hours I read Vampirates by Justin Somper. I did not enjoy this book as much as I had hoped to. The action was a little to slow for me. But I realized when reading it that this was a middle grade book. Maybe even a advanced elementary grade book. So it is understandable why the plot was slow and it was hard to read. It was because I am so use to fast past action and fast world building. Also I love complicated characters and while you get some complicated characters in this book they are not as complicated as I would have liked them to be. Don’t get me wrong this was a enjoyable book but it was just to young for me. I gave it a 2.5 out of 5 stars.

In total I read 935 pages. I really enjoyed the readathon even though I had no idea what I was doing other than reading. I know realized that every hour I could have entered the book I was reading and how many pages I had read and also signed up for prizes on the Dewey’s website. I did not know until now, almost 24 hours after the readathon that those things were happening. But even though I didn’t win anything I won getting my TBR pile down for this month which helped and I definitely will be participating in the Dewey’s 24 hour readathin next time! If you want to see what kinds of fun a Dewey’s 24 hour readthon brings you can click here to go to their website.

Leave a Reply

