Reading Slumps

We have all been here. It’s a dark dark place were you want to jump into a new world and read but you just don’t. I myself have just came out of a reading slump. So how did I do it you ask? Well I honestly did what I felt like doing. Now my reading slump happened for about 3 and a half months. Yikes!

One thing you DO NOT want to do in a reading slump is force yourself to read. This will just make your reading slump worse and it will take longer to come out of it. Read when you want to read and what you want to read.

I do suggest reading a little but only when you want to read. And for theses few days during a reading slump where you say to yourself “I want to read”, chose a book that is something you not only want to read but find interesting to read. DO NOT read a boring book. This includes but is not limited to text books.

During my reading slump all I wanted to do was play Call of Duty Black Ops 2 on Xbox live. And for those 3 and a half months that I was in a reading slump that is what I did. Not to honk my girly butt in all you guys out there’s faces but I went gold on my peacekeeper in two days. So suck it. 😛

How did I get out of my reading slump? Honestly it just did it itself. Between 3 months I read 2 books. I read Frost Bite by Richelle Mead which almost pulled me out of my reading slump. If I had read another fast paced action packed book I might have pulled out of the reading slump a lot faster. But instead I figured I would listen to Burned by P.C Cast and Kristen Cast. This book is what threw me back into my reading slump because I found it boring.

What book officially pulled me out of this long struggle was Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armetourt. When I finished the book it birthed this blog and I wrote my first review, which if you have not seen you can find here.

So what do you do in a reading slump? Whatever you want to. My advice for books to read during a reading slump are fast paced action packed, drama filled books that will hold your attention. I hope this small rant helped some of you out there overcome these dark days and may the odds be ever in your favor.

1 Comment

  1. I agree and disagree with this. I just came out of a reading slump but I did it by reading a little bit every day until I got back into the grove of reading. Everyone is different and while I agree to NOT read a boring book, I don’t agree that you should avoid books. My last slump lasted at least 5 years because I didn’t want to put effort into reading. That’s just my opinion though…

    Like

Leave a Reply

