Review: The Selection Series

 
selection

I really enjoyed The Selection Series by Kiera Cass. This series follows America Singer and her adventures in the selection. We start with book one: The Selection were we are brought into this dystopian world were everyone in society is broken up into castes.

Caste 1 you are a royal.
Caste 2 -3 are pretty wealthy families. Jobs include modeling and other more expensive business.
Caste 4-5 are lower middle class. America and her family work in arts and music.
Then there is Caste 6 – the lowest of the casts. These are servants of sorts. Unless you work for the royal family 6’s are frowned upon.
Finally you can be casteless. This means you are lower than a 6. You belong no where.

On top of this caste system, you can only marry within your caste or above your caste. For example if you are a 5 you can marry into a 5 or higher, but you cannot marry lower than a 5. This is not illegal but is very frowned upon.

Once a royal prince or princess is of age the selection happens. Prince Maxon is of age and gets to pick out of 35 girls one to be his wife. American does not want to participate but pressure from family and friends makes her put her name into the pool. And she is picked to be one of the 35 girls to be in the selection. Not only will she be taken from her true love in her home town now she must learn to become a future princess while of course avoiding girl drama.

I gave The Selection 5 out of 5 stars.

For The Elite and The One I do not want to go into to much detail to avoid spoiling others on what happens. I think that people who like contemporary and the bachelor and the hunger games will enjoy this book because it is all theses things in one. I gave The Elite and The One both 5 out of 5 stars.

The only thing I did not like about The One was the ending. It was a good ending no doubt but the drama and everything happened to fast. After I was done with The One I just wanted more. I wanted a bigger ending then it was. It wasn’t that the ending was bad I just wanted more.

Recently I read The Selection Stories novellas; The Prince and The Guard. Together I gave this a 4 out of 5 stars but if I rated them separately I would give The Prince 3 out of 5 stars and The Guard 5 out of 5 stars.

Now these novellas seem that most people either love or hate them. So please do not go by what I say to buy the novellas if you are not sure about them. For me, The Prince was awful. I hated how Maxon acted and wanted him to grow up. Sure this was a novella that took place in the beginning of The Selection but for a prince I had higher hopes for him.

I never expected to like The Guard. I mean I liked Aspen in the books but I never loved him. But in The Guard he surprised me. He was what I wanted Maxon to be!

All in all I really love this series. I can not wait for The Heir to come out! May 2015 get here already!

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: October Wrap Up | Half A Nerd

Leave a Reply

