Review: Dark Days

darkdays

From the moment I watched a review video on YouTube I was dying to have this book. So last week I bought a bunch of new books and finally got my hands on Dark Days by Kate Ormand.

This book was everything that I though it was going to be and so much more. I have Dark Days 4.5 out of 5 stars.

To start I do not like this cover. I think the background is hard to see and the pink in over powering. BUT PLEASE DO NOT JUDGE A BOOK BY IT’S COVER. Especially not this book!

Now I think with all dystopian type books, people who have read The Hunger Games always seek out hunger games like similarities. And yes there are some in this book but this book is completely different than the Hunger Games.

We are introduced to Sia. And she has 15 days left until a cyborg army comes and kills everyone in her sector. Everyone in this sector lives in the same types of houses with the same types of furniture. No one is allowed to be unique and different. The only people in her sector that are not being killed are being taken to the New World. They are being picked because they bring something more into this world than normal people and Sia already knows that here family will not be picked.

I read this book within 24 hours. It was fast paced and gripping. I was shocked at some of the plot twists and the directions they went.

I honestly think this book could have been longer. It could have been a series but in a way I like it as a short book. It is only 250 pages long. If you are looking for a fast dystopian that will engage you this book is for you.

Now like I mentioned before this book does have a few Hunger Games like aspects to it but what I liked the most is one of the characters you meet reminds me of Effie. But this Effie like character goes bad. It kind of makes me image if Effie ever snapped in Mockingjay this would have been her. I couldn’t stop laughing at the image,

I really loved this book. Now I took off .5 stars on it because I felt like there was some repeating paragraphs throughout the book but other than that it was a awesome adventure and I really wish/hope there will be another book like this by Kate Ormand!

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: A Message from District 13 | Half A Nerd

Leave a Reply

