Review: The Invention of Hugo Cabret

This book was huge when I got it. It is over 500 pages but don’t let it scare you! There are beatuiful illustrations in the story which makes up over half the book.

I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars. I did see the movie a long time ago before I read this book and I honestly could not remeber exactly what had happened but after reading the book it acutally made more sense to me.

We follow the mystery of Hugo Cabret, a orphaned boy who fixes clocks in a Paris train station. He is trying to solve the myster of how his father passed when he comes across a mechanical man that his father was fixing up before he passed. Hugo is sure this machine will guide him in the right direction and send him a message from his father. If only he could fix it.

I really enjoyed this story of Hugo. Even though this was a kids book I feel we see Hugo grown in a big way as he tries to figure out the secret of the mechanical man. It was a very fast read and I finished this book in under 2 hours but that doesn’t mean it was a bad book. I loved the way it was written and the way the book was laid out. I can’t wait to read this book to my own kids one day and fill their heads with dreams as big as the moon!

Leave a Reply

