Review: Branded

Brandedebook

This book has been floating slowly around booktube and I love dystopian so naturally I picked it up. We follow the story of Lexi who is taken to be branded. Each brand is a different sin represents by a tattoo around the persons neck in a certain color. Lexi is accused of the sin lust. Therefore she is branded with a blue band and sent to the Hole, where sinners go after they are branded.

I gave this book a 3.5 out of 5 stars. I had a lot of issues with it but I still really liked the story.

I love this first half of the book. Though there is insta-love which you can tell the authors where trying not to do, the story started off strong. It even made me tear up. But half way threw I got so confused. I feel like the wording and sentences where missing things. It’s hard to explain. It was like saying “I wanted the ice cream,” but it read as “I want cream.” You as a reader had to fill in the holes that where not explained which made it so confusing.

Lexi makes a 360 degree change. I love the Lexi in the beginning of this book. But then she just froze up. She became a different person with a change of the page.

The worst part was the second half’s plot was interesting but I couldn’t believe it with the lack of descriptions. It just didn’t seem realistic. And it was even hard to follow.

It took me a week to get threw the second half of the book where it only took me a day to get half way through.

The good news is the last chapter picked up. Though it was predicable for the ending, it was a good conclusion for this book. And even though I had issues I do plan on reading the next book in this series. In fact I am part of the street team for this series so plan on seeing some updates for that!

If you like dystopian I think you will like this book. Just push through the ending because it is worth the story.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: December Wrap Up | Half A Nerd

Leave a Reply

