Review: Into The Woods

Ok so I had no clue what to expect from Into The Woods. All I knew was it had some princesses such as Cinderella in it.
 
Let me start off saying they had a fantastic cast. Everyone in the cast even the extras where witty and wonderful. They couldn’t have found anyone better. From Little Red Ridding Hood to the Witch, the cast was amazing.
 
Second I had no clue that this movie was a musical. I figured it would have music because is a Disney movie but not like a musical.
 
So here are my thoughts. Just so we are clear everyone will look at this movie differently.
 
I enjoyed the beginning of the movie. And then it felt like half way threw the writers didn’t know where to go. So they threw in some stuff hoping it would be good and ended up falling flat. I did not like the ending.
 
We start off with seeing these fairy tales start like the stories go. Little Red Ridding Hood off to see her grandma. Jack from Jack and the bean stock going to sell his cow. Cinderella trying to finish her chores so she can go to the ball. One new story we see too, the Baker and his wife.
 
The Baker and his wife are visited by a witch who tells of how she cursed the bakers father and his son for stealing from her garden. But the witch needs help. She needs a few items and in return would give the Baker and his wife a child.
 
Along the way we see these characters start to think for themselves in a sort of sarcastic way. For example: how everyone wants Cinderella to be smarter and more independent will she develops that. Or how Jack learns how to grow up. It all happens in the woods.
 
So they all go into the woods.
 
All in all for my rating if this was like goodreads I give this movie a 3.5 out of 5 stars. Like I said I really enjoyed the first half f this movie but hated the ending.
 

*****SPOILERS******

 
I tried to write this without spoilers but because of how much detail I went in I have a few. So this is your warning to not read the rest of this. You have been warned.
 
About half way threw the movie when you think that the comedy and plot is wonderful it gets stuck.
 
Jack kills the giants husband and she comes down to find who did it. This is where I felt it became boring and quiet honestly stupid. The characters sit for about 20 minutes blaming each other (in song) about why their wishes never came true.
 
I think what really got to me in this movie was not only the unnecessary deaths for over half the cast (yes they die in unsad and stupid ways) but also the language. In one of the first songs the witch is telling a story of how the Bakers father steals from her garden and uses the word “rape.: Excuse me? Rape? This is why kids on online video games think its ok to throw that word around so lightly. “He raped me.” NO HE DIDNT HE TOOK YOUR BEANS. WHEN DID TAKING BEANS BECOME RAPE? To add to this Jack talks about how the giants wife held him to her breasts. Why? What was a 10 – 12 year old boy doing in-between the boobs of a women in a sexual manner?
 
To finish the movie the last song is about how we shouldn’t lie to our children about Cinderella and other fairy tales. Sure I loved Cinderella when I was growing up and look at me. I don’t have a boyfriend and haven’t for 22 years because I don’t expect nor want a prince charming. I want to be able to fend for myself. Cinderella isn’t corrupting our kids we are by teaching them that one a day prince will come.
 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

