The Darkest Minds Review

This month I read The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken. I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars.

Where to begin. We follow Ruby the main character as she is taken from her parents at the age of 10 and placed into a camp for children with supernatural powers. In this camp Ruby is labeled as a green, or a kid who can solve puzzles and do math in record time. For six years Ruby grows up in this camp until the Childers League tries to break her out.

On the way to the Childers Leagues headquarters Ruby discovers that they are not what they seem and so she takes off. She stumbles upon a car with three other teens like her. I mean ironically they are exactly like her, supernatural and all.

Chubs, Liam, Zu, and Ruby all head onto this road trip to find the Slip Kid. The Slip Kid is rumored to have a paradise for kids with super powers and can even contact your family if you so wish.

This book was a ok book. I enjoyed it a lot. There just wasn’t anything that really jumped out at me. I feel as though I have read this story before. The ending was very good and shocking. I did not see it coming. I am hoping that this was just a introduction into this broken world and that Never Fade is better. I think that this is well worth the read but it was a slow paced book.

Leave a Reply

