Book Reviews

Brace for Impact by Gabe Montesanti

I received this book as a ARC of a honest review.

One thing I have learned this year form reading more memoirs is that I like memoirs that show backstory more. I want to feel like I am sitting in a room with a stranger who is telling me their life story. The last memoir I read did not give me this feeling and I came out of it feeling like it was more a news article or a paper written for a college class. That is not the case with this memoir. I feel like Gabe really showed us her life and her legacy.

Brace for Impact is a discovering yourself memoir. Gabe is very open about her relationship with her mother and how that impacted her life growing up. We also follow her self-discovery for roller derby, her sexuality and trying to love herself through body image issues.

I love the narration and voice from this book.The flow of this book is smooth and paced fast. I did also listen to half this book on audio after it was released and thought that the audio book was also well narrated and paced the same as the books. I love that Gabe herself narrates the audiobook. It adds a more personal feel to the book.I recommended this book to anyone who is trying to get more into memoirs or who is looking for a feel good book.

I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars.

Leave a comment